Greek parliament ratifies North Macedonia NATO accession protocol

The draft billRatification of the Protocol of the North Atlantic Treaty for the Accession of North Macedonia” was ratified by the plenary of the Hellenic Parliament on Friday after securing a majority of 153 votes.

The ratification process will admit the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) to NATO under its new name “Republic of North Macedonia” once all of the North Atlantic alliance’s members approve similar protocols.

During the roll-call voting procedure, all SYRIZA members plus eight independent deputies voted in favour; one independent voted present; while 5 of 6 absent deputies had voted against the draft bill by absentee ballot.

Source ANA-MPA
You might also like